Day 16

February 14, 2011 at 10:50 pm 2 comments

Your views on mainstream music.

You know, if you had asked me this about 4 years ago I would have a lot of strong opinions about it. I was, at the time, still trying very hard to rage against the figurative pop-music machine, trying to eek out a sense of individuality amongst what I viewed as the mindless masses of my generation.

What I did not understand at the time was that I was rebelling in the same way as everyone else around me.

ah, such is the paradox of youth.

I’m now more of a “listen to whatever you like” kind of person.

I enjoy some of the mainstream music, I like some indie music, whatever.

Recently I’ve been listening to a lot of old folk, the kind of stuff I listened to when I was young (or more accurately, the kind of stuff my parents listened to when they were young, and then played for me)

For example, I’ve been listening to Woody Guthrie like it’s my job.

But i’ve also been listening to David Bowie and feeling like I’m 16 again.

so, mainstream music?
Some of it’s rather good, but some of it is terrible.

I have no grand sweeping emotions about the entire genre.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Day 15 Day 17

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DLJ  |  February 15, 2011 at 11:54 am

    You might want to check out The Weavers the next time you’re in an “old school” folk music mood.

    Reply
  • 2. DLJ  |  February 15, 2011 at 11:54 am

    PS Woody rocks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Most Recent Posts


