hoot hoot hoot

December 8, 2010 at 11:09 pm 4 comments

Hello all,

I am officially done with my first semester back in art school. This is a very strange feeling. Its particularly strange because last time I finished a semester at art school I wasn’t planning on returning ever. Now faced with the fact that I have not only completed a semester but will be returning in the spring, I am ecstatic. I am really really happy with my experiences thus far at MECA. I am learning a lot, and I honestly respect my teachers to a point that may mirror reverence.

2,000 pieces of rolled up tape, displayed in a window.

Plus, I had a really great final review. like, REALLY great. I was a nervous wreck before I went in there (The president, my faculty mentor, and an alum who owns their own business were going to be judging me, can you blame my nerves?) but it turned out well, and at the end, I even had one of my critique-ers (the alum) offer to buy one of the pieces I was selling. I am obviously psyched about that, plus it’s a crit, not a show so it’s not like I was expecting to sell things.
However, I suck at pricing my work. Obviously that prospect was a little anxiety producing, so while I was doing some math in my head I whipped out my old prismacolors and drew a silly little owl for you guys.

what? I didn't say it was a GOOD owl.

ah, mindless drawing is always good.

I told myself I would spend today cleaning and running errands. I have actually spent today pretending to be a narcoleptic and taking naps on every piece of furniture I own. It is now 6, and I have to go do errands and all I want to do is keep sleeping. I think my body is rather unhappy with me because of what I put it through this last week of crits. I’m sorry! don’t make me go in to a coma!

I have some really exciting prospects lined up for the winter break, a good amount of which I will be spending in Philadelphia! Mutter museum, oh how I have missed you!  Oh cranky people and smelly streets! hooray!

In parting I’m going to leave you with a silly little plate I made for my dad last summer (I may or may not have only just yesterday found my card reader and gotten a whole bunch of photographs off of my camera.)

I’m going to try my hardest to update more regularly over the break (now that I am out of the dark abyss of work that is final crits.)

Entry filed under: Artz, crafts, Rambling.

Give-away winner, updates. Update:New Format.

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DLJ  |  December 9, 2010 at 1:12 am

    OMG – that rolled tape piece is beautiful!!!

    Reply
  • 2. panda cookie  |  December 10, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    More work!
    I assume you know Tara Donovan’s work?

    Reply
    • 3. Emmeline  |  December 11, 2010 at 2:11 am

      Oh hell yes I do. I am currently obsessed with her and Do Ho Suh. Super freaking obsessed.

      Reply
  • 4. DLJ  |  December 10, 2010 at 11:21 pm

    I think the owl IS a “good” owl. I like her green nook and I want to know her story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


