New Feature.

August 13, 2010 at 10:07 pm 1 comment

I’ve decided to periodically talk about books on this blog. Mostly books I like, a few books I’ve come to hate, and absolutely no books I feel neutral about. I’m probably not going to be very eloquent or analytic. They will probably be more like longwinded recommendations. Oh, and of course I’m going to talk about myself because this IS a blog after all.

Here goes (note: stay tuned or scroll down for recent artz)
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. Originally published in 1945

(I’m going to stick to the first book and leave the trilogy for another time.)

Douglas Adams is a personal hero of mine. This book is a sarcastic, dry, hilarious romp through space. it stars a consistently befuddled earthling (Arthur Dent) and a humanoid from somewhere in the vicinity of Betelgeuse (Ford Prefect.) It starts with the destruction of earth and both “men” are catapulted through an adventure that involves two-headed smooth-talkers, the third-worst poetry in the known universe, the origin of man, planetary construction, and somewhere along the line it nonchalantly gives them the answer to life the universe and everything. It is absolutely delightful, and entirely aware of its own ridiculousness. Funnily enough, the object for which the book is named (an encyclopedia covering all the knowledge in the known universe. With a cover that reads “Don’t Panic”) is displayed on something that looks about the same as a graphing calculator and functions about the same as a Kindle. The idea of this object in 1945 was ridiculous, but now we would probably view it as outdated. Technological progression is crazy, amiright?
I first read this book when I was 13 and I loved the shit out of it. It held up past that age though, and I enjoyed reading it at least twice since then. It is a quick read, not very difficult to get through. I would wholeheartedly suggest it to anyone who has been wary of science fiction, it is a splendid gateway drug in to that world.

I do, briefly want to mention the movie that was made recently. It was crap. I mean, the movie on its own would probably have been an okay film, but in relation to the book? It butchered a perfectly good story line and ended up with an entirely different feel and message.
I’d have to say that the adaptation that most closely resembles the original book was the BBC miniseries that aired in 1981. The budget is (almost hilariously) low, but it definitely gets the humor and story right. Or at least, more right that the more recent film adaptation.

So, if you’ve got some time on your hands and you don’t want to read anything too taxing, pick this guy up and give it a go.

Now on to current art making.

This is actually less art, and more assignment.
As a transfer student at MECA, I was invited (but not required) to do what they call the “Mail ME” project. They give you an 8×8″ piece of paper and a theme (this year: Place) and you make art that has to do with that theme on the 8×8″ paper and mail it back in. They then display all of them together. I think its a good idea, and I decided to do it even though I wasn’t entirely required (more “encouraged.”)

I apologize ahead of time for the blurriness of these photos, my camera did NOT want to focus (I need to read the manual, I can’t figure out how to get it to give me manual control over the focus.)

and from the top,


Urgh, sorry, these pictures are really atrocious.
I am content with how it came out, but it no longer fits in the envelope they gave us in which to mail it back. I am going to call tomorrow to see if its okay for me to just drop it off at the office since I would have to walk by it to get to the post office anyway.

They are doing a background check on me at the place I interviewed for. I guess thats a good thing? they wouldn’t waste their time if they weren’t at least considering me? (desperate hope?)

Boy am I glad I never committed any crimes.

Entry filed under: Artz, Book talk, crafts, Rambling.

Finally! I think I have a ghost.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. DLJ  |  August 14, 2010 at 1:12 am

    I wonder where you got all that cardboard ?! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


