Piñata!

May 23, 2010 at 9:15 pm 1 comment

Thursday morning I got a phone call from my friend Rosemary’s Dad. He asked me if I could make a piñata for her graduation party saturday. Being the overachiever craft mafia superstar that I am, I agreed and started on a Papier-mâché filled journey. 

Did you know there is something in Elmer’s glue makes balloons pop? I figured that out about 7 hours and 4 balloons in to friday night. 

Finally I figured out that the optimal adhesive would be wheat paste (the piñata is not gluten free, haha) and at 2am I started what would be the actual piñata.

Do you know it takes this shit like 4 hours to dry? Yeah, fun times. 

Anyway, about 8 hours later (I am handy with a blow dryer) I had a hard shell and I decorated it to look like an owl 

Its filled with Peanut chews, smarties, and vegan bubble gum. 

I would have made it a more complex shape if I had time. Not bad for 48 hours, is it?

Entry filed under: Adventures, Artz, crafts.

Mosaics (work in progress) Mosaics 2.0

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jojo  |  May 24, 2010 at 8:19 am

    That’s totally awesome! I love the colours of the owl…and that it’s a god damn owl! Amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


