Sweet peppermint iced tea.

May 3, 2010 at 11:26 pm 1 comment

I have this vague taste memory from when I was like, 5 of a sweet tea that tasted like peppermint. I have no idea who used to make it. Going on that taste memory alone and a vague concept of how to make a good sweet tea I came up with this.

Normally sweet tea is made with an assload and a half of sugar. Since I try to lean away from that much sugar in a beverage, I replaced it with agave. I think the sticky sweet of the agave plays nicely with the light flavor of the peppermint.  

It seriously saved my sanity yesterday when it was 95 and like 100% humidity. I think I drank something around 4 cups of it. 

Recipe: measurements are just what I use, its really kind of a “to taste” recipe. 

-8 bags of peppermint tea (if using loose leaf, about 6 tbspns in a cheese cloth or tea ball.) 

-5 tablespoons of agave nectar. 

Boil 5 cups of water in a small or medium saucepan with a lid. Once it comes to a boil turn off heat and place the tea bags in the hot water to steep. Put the lid back on the saucepan and WALK AWAY for at least 20 minutes (longer if you like a stronger tea taste, I often let it sit for 45 minutes.) the water should still be warm, add the agave nectar and stir until homogenous (this shouldn’t take long, the agave incorporates itself rather quickly in hot tea.) Leave the lid off and let cool to room temperature before putting it in a food safe pitcher (mine is glass) and popping that whole thing in the fridge for 3-4 hours, or until cool. I like my summer bevs super cold so I usually leave it in the fridge over night.

serve over ice.

its not the most complex of things, but its pretty much a weekly activity of mine in the summer.

Entry filed under: food.

Meaningless doodles and cats Cupcakes and Friends!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dan  |  May 21, 2010 at 6:49 am

    I am so making this as often as possible for the rest of my summer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


